Friday 19 July 2019
  • :
  • :

Dallas International Film Festival Announces Award Winners

Dallas International Film Festival Announces Award Winners
Josephine Decker | Director of Madeline’s Madeline

Concluding the Festivities, DIFF Announces Film Awards and Jury for 12th Annual Event

The 12th annual Dallas International Film Festival (DIFF) and local film nonprofit Dallas Film Society (DFS) is thrilled to announce this year’s award winners chosen by the jury members. The eight-day event kicked off on the red carpet on Thursday, May 3 with special featured shorts and feature film screenings, galas, special events, and more that occurred through Thursday, May 10 at The Magnolia – West Village. Highlights included the North American premiere of Rob Reiner’s Shock & Awe, a 25th anniversary screening of Jurassic Park, and a 40th anniversary screening of Animal House featuring commentary by actor Bruce McGill and director John Landis.

This year’s event award winners were in four categories judged by ten notable industry professionals. Award categories included Documentary Feature Films, Narrative Feature Films, Short Films, and Texas Films. Thanks to Panavision, winners of the Texas Competition award category will receive a camera package rental valued at $30,000. In addition to the Texas award, two new prizes awarded during this year’s 12th annual event were given, as well, including a Grand Jury Prize award in the Narrative Feature competition who received a limited national release from Studio Movie Grill and a $1,000 cash prize to the Best Historical Film from the Dallas Historical Society. Additional prizes included two brand new Sony aS7II cameras to winners in the categories of Best Documentary Feature and Best Narrative Short. All award winners this year will receive Movie Magic budgeting and scheduling software provided by Entertainment Partners.

2018 DIFF Award Winners

Short Films:
Special Mention Short (Comedy) – Allen Anders – Live at the Comedy Castle (circa 1987) directed by Laura Moss
Special Mention Short (Late Night) – Mobius directed by Sam Kuhn
Special Mention Short (Texas) – Uncertain Future directed by Chelsea Hernandez and Iliana Sosa
Animated Short – Aqua Vita
Documentary Short – Adversary directed by Scott Cummings
Narrative Short – Krista directed by Danny Madden

Feature Films:
Special Mention Feature (Narrative) – Madeline’s Madeline directed by Josephine Decker/starring Helena Howard and Miranda July
Special Mention Feature (Texas) – The Iron Orchard directed by Ty Roberts
Grand Jury Prize (Texas) – 1985 directed by Yen Tan
Grand Jury Prize (Documentary) – The Blessing directed by Jordan Fein and Hunter Robert Baker
Grand Jury Prize (Narrative) – Dead Pigs directed by Cathy Yan

Audience Awards:
Documentary Short – tomnoddy directed by Charles Poekel
Narrative Short – Caroline directed by Celine Held and Logan George

Narrative Feature – Tejano directed by David Garcia
Documentary Feature – Loud Krazy Love directed by Scott Mayo and Trey Hill

Dallas County Historical Commission Award: 
Best Depiction of a Historical Event – Footprint directed by Sara Newens

A full list of films and categories can be found on the 2018 DIFF Online Film Guide.

About Dallas Film Society Dallas Film Society is a 501(c) 3 nonprofit organization dedicated to supporting film, filmmakers and film education through our annual events, the Dallas International Film Festival and The Art of Film, through membership events and screenings, and through our educational programs: Summer Film Camp, the High School Roundtables and High School Day, and The Veterans Institute for Film & Media. Dallas Film provides leadership in screen education and the recognition and celebration of excellence in the art of film, television and digital media. For more information, please visit

Dallas International Film Festival

The Dallas International Film Festival, presented by the Dallas Film Society, is an annual film festival which takes place in Dallas, Texas in April every year.