Tuesday 16 July 2019
  • :
  • :

Public Relations Society of America Announces 2016 Pegasus Awards for Dallas

Public Relations Society of America Announces 2016 Pegasus Awards for Dallas


DALLAS – December 15, 2016 — The Dallas chapter of Public Relations Society of America (PRSA) announced the winners of the 2016 Pegasus Awards. The chapter’s Pegasus Awards recognize the most outstanding public relations and strategic communications efforts by Dallas area public relations professionals. The chapter also recently awarded individual chapter awards and elected the new 2017 Dallas chapter officers.

Pegasus Awards

Pegasus Award winners were announced at a luncheon presentation during the annual PRSA Dallas Communications UnSummit, which drew nearly 200 public relations and communications professionals for a full day of speakers with leading industry experts.

Highest honors and Best of Show awards went to 7-Eleven with Ketchum in the Programs division for Wiener Wars: 7-Eleven Takes Big Bite Out of Rival’s News, and to DoubleTree by Hilton in the Projects division for DoubleTree by Hilton Launches “Nice Travels” Movement. The Best of Show awards recognize the two most outstanding entries in the Programs and Projects categories for their creativity and effectiveness in achieving goals and objectives.

Pegasus Awards were also given in six categories of the Programs division, represented by multi-faceted campaigns that used several strategies and tactics to reach an objective. The winners were:

 Community Relations

Pegasus Award: Fluor

Award of Honor: TrizCom with Heroes for Children

Events and Observances

Pegasus Award: Fluor

Award of Honor: Denton County Transportation Authority

Award of Honor: Mary Kay

Award of Honor: Dallas Area Rapid Transit (DART)

Internal Communications

Pegasus Award: Dean Foods Company

Award of Honor: Allstate

Award of Honor: Aviall: A Boeing Company

Award of Honor: Children’s Health

Marketing Communications, Business-to-Business

Pegasus Award: Ketchum

Award of Honor: TrizCom Public Relations with Goodway Group

Marketing Communications, Consumer

Pegasus Award: 7-Eleven with Ketchum

Award of Honor: Denton County Transportation Authority (DCTA)

Risky Business

Pegasus Awards: 7-Eleven with Ketchum

Award of Honor: Dean Foods Company

Award of Honor: Solis Mammography with TrizCom Public Relations

Award of Honor: North Texas Tollway Authority (NTTA)

Winners were also announced in seven categories of the Projects division, which included entries representing a single tactic developed as part of a comprehensive campaign. The following awards were announced:

 Media Relations, Associations, Government or Non-profit

Pegasus Award: Children’s Health

Award of Honor: Hill + Knowlton Strategies

Media Relations, Consumer

Pegasus Award: DoubleTree by Hilton

Award of Honor: 70kft

Award of Honor: Scottish Rite Hospital for Children

Social Media

Pegasus Award: DoubleTree by Hilton

Award of Honor: HomeTeam Pest Defense with QMobius

Award of Honor: Tetra Pak with Golin


Pegasus Award: Baylor Scott & White Health with QMobius


Pegasus Award: Chili’s

Award of Honor: Allstate


Pegasus Award: Scottish Rite Hospital for Children

Award of Honor: Fluor

Award of Honor: Buckner International


Pegasus Award: Buckner International

Award of Honor: Aero Kinetics with Shorey Public Relations

Award of Honor: North Texas Tollway Authority with HNTB

Award of Honor: HMS

The Pegasus Award is named after the iconic red Pegasus in downtown Dallas. It serves as a symbol of public relations excellence in Dallas and North Texas. The Pegasus Awards luncheon sponsor was Ketchum. For more information about the awards and PRSA, visit PRSA Dallas.

Individual Recognition from the Chapter

The chapter also announced the winners of its 2016 Chapter awards, which recognizes members at all stages of their careers for public relations excellence and significant contributions to the chapter. PRSA Dallas announced the individual chapter awards as:

President’s Award for Outstanding Service to the Chapter

Kara Schectman, YPO

New Member of the Year

Chris Pilcic, State Farm

Member of the Year

Amanda Lam, Viverae

Norm Teich Award

Leah Ekmark Williams, APR, C. Pharr & Co.

2017 Slate of Officers

PRSA Dallas has also announced its 2017 slate of officers effective January 1, 2017:


Melissa Flynn, APR, Melissa Flynn Public Relations & Marketing


Donna Coletti, APR, Texas Instruments

Vice President

Brooke Traister, Children’s Health


Christi Matthys, Lewis Public Relations

Assembly Delegates (2017-19)

Christy Baily-Byers, APR; Accrediting Bureau of Health Education Schools

Bernadette Davis, APR; IBM

Sandra Duhé, APR, Fellow PRSA, Southern Methodist University

Alternative Delegate

John Janney, APR, Muslim Legal Fund of America

About PRSA Dallas

PRSA Dallas is one of the nation’s largest and most active chapters of the Public Relations Society of America. Founded in 1950, three years after the national society founding, PRSA Dallas has grown to a membership of more than 300 dedicated professionals located in and around the Dallas area working on local, national and even international projects and campaigns.




In TrizCom, organizations ranging from corporations to nonprofits to start-ups gain a team of savvy PR professionals who think creatively and develop truly innovative communications ideas that build buzz and raise brand awareness for our clients.Working with TrizCom is the difference between PR that’s box-checking and PR that’s groundbreaking. Combining best practices and best thinking, we empower communications with bigger, bolder ideas that break through clutter and achieve results for our clients.That’s what happens when you partner with a team with 178 years of combined experience in the field – and a track record of client successes.